The next round of commitments

Yesterday we had four initial Wizards commit to being interviewed for the project. Today we more than double the list with another groups of prominent and successful coaches to the list. We’ve got multiple Hall of Famers and all three levels of NCAA volleyball covered in this group, with some national team flavor as well.

Iradge Ahrabi-Fard (USA)
A member of the inagural AVCA Hall of Fame class of 2003, Iradge spent 19 seasons at the University of Northern Iowa, accumulating over 500 victories. His teams won 10 conference championships and eight league tournament titles, made eight NCAA Tournament berths and three National Invitation Tournament appearances – including a trip to the 1993 NIVC Final Four. Iradge was named the 1999 AVCA National Coach of the Year, after guiding UNI to a 30-1 record, a No. 15 national ranking and a trip to the Sweet Sixteen of the NCAA Tournament. He was the inaugural AVCA Excellence in Education Award winner, was voted the AVCA District Coach of the Year in 1985 and 1999, and was the conference coach of the year six times.

Teri Clemens (USA)
A 2004 AVCA Hall of Fame inductee, Teri holds the NCAA Division III record for career winning %, having gone 529-77 over 14 seasons at Washington University in St. Louis from 1985 to 1998. Her teams won seven national championships, including six in a row between 1991 and 1996. Teri was named the Tachikara/AVCA Division III National Coach of the Year three times and her 1992 squad is the only NCAA Division III Tournament team to finish a full season with a perfect record (40-0). She wasn’t too bad as a high school coach either. Over six years at St. Louis’ Incarnate Word Academy her teams accumulated a 155-15 record with three Missouri State championships.

Dietre Collins-Parker (USA)
A 2008 AVCA Hall of Fame inductee, is perhaps best known as a player. Dietre won back-to-back NCAA Division I national championships at the University of Hawaii and was as 3-time All-American. She also won the Broderick Cup Award, signifying the nation’s top female collegiate athlete, becoming the first volleyball player to ever receive that distinction. She was a member of the 1988 USA Women’s Olympic squad. Dietre began her head coaching career with eight years at the University of Nevada Las Vegas earning Western Athletic Conference Coach of the Year in 1998 after taking a dormant volleyball program and leading the Lady Rebels to a 23-8 record and a WAC tournament semifinal appearance. That was followed by five seasons at the helm of Cornell where she won or shared 3 Ivy League titles and made two trips to the NCAA tournament. Since 2009 she has been at San Diego State. In 2012 she led her Aztec squad to a 23-8 mark and a 13-3 ledger in the Mountain West as the Aztecs claimed their first-ever Mountain West title. Dietre is considered by many to be one of the great ambassadors of the sport.

Paulo Cunha (Portugal)
From 1987 to 2007 Paulo was a coaching education lecturer and course director for the Portuguese Volleyball Association and Portuguese Volleyball Federation. He coached his nation’s Junior National Team from 1986-1992. His club teams in Portugal’s 1st Division won 8 national titles, 7 Portuguese Cups, and 6 Super Cups. Paulo’s coached in 12 European Cups and in 1998 became the first Portuguese coach to reach a European cup final four. Three times he was awarded Coach of the Year by the Portuguese Association of Volleyball Coaches.

Peggy Martin (USA)
A 2009 AVCA Hall of Fame inductee, Peggy is one of only two NCAA coaches to accumulate more than 1200 victories and is the Division II leader in career wins. Most of those came at the University of Central Missouri where she had 33 consecutive winning seasons (as part of 39 total) and an overall record of 1064-281-8. Peggy’s teams won or shared 19 conference titles, reached the NCAA tournament 25 consecutive times, with six trips to the Elite 8. She has won 22 Coach of the Year awards. Peggy has been coaching the last several seasons in the NAIA at Spring Hill College continuing her impressive performance with an overall record of 168-43, with four straight undefeated conference seasons.

Leave a Reply